Sunday, November 2, 2008

Free Comic Character Profile : Conan the Barbarian

Dark Horse Comics began their take on Conan in 2003 with a one-shot prologue, Conan #0: Conan the Legend.

The Conan and Conan the Cimmerian series present a fresh interpretation, incorporating both new material and adaptations of stories by Robert E. Howard, with no other connection to many Marvel Comics series or other post-Howard material. The series follow Dale Rippke's "Darkstorm" chronology. The story "Helm" in Conan #18 addresses one of the major "faults" in that chronology.

An ongoing dialogue between two characters, the Prince and the Wazir, living in an age centuries in Conan's future, is often used as a framing device for the stories.

Each issue also contains "The Adventures of Two-Gun Bob (True Stories from the Life of Robert E. Howard)" by Jim & Ruth Keegan.

Core appearances

  • Conan #0: The Legend (2003), 1 issue.
  • Conan (2004-2008), 50 issues.
  • Conan and the Daughters of Midora (2004), 1 issue.
  • Conan and the Jewels of Gwahlur (2005), 3 issues.
  • Conan and the Demons of Khitai (2005-2006), 4 issues.
  • Conan: Book of Thoth (2006), 4 issues.
  • Conan: Free Comic Book Day Edition (2006), 1 issue.
  • Conan and the Songs of the Dead (2006), 5 issues.
  • Dark Horse 20 Years: Conan Pin-Up (2006), 1 page.
  • Hyborian Adventures: SDCC Free Giveaway (2006), 1 issue.
  • Conan and the Midnight God (2007), 5 issues.
  • Conan the Cimmerian (2008- ), ongoing.


Our Friends Links :

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...